General Society Commemorative Coin Initiative for the 400th Anniversary of the Landing of the Mayflower

GSMD’s request to have the US Mint issue a series of commemorative coins recognizing the 400th anniversary of the Mayflower voyage is now before Congress. If you would like to see this become a reality, contact your Representatives and Senators today! Keep reading for directions on how you can tell your Senators and Congressional Representatives that you support this project.

Here is the challenge to each of you – we need 287 US Congress members and 67 US Senators to sign on as co-sponsors. Only two coins are minted each year. There are already a handful of applications and there are sure to be more, so we need you to help rally the support needed to move this project forward. We can do this!

On July 8, 2015, bills were introduced in the House of Representatives and Senate in support of our 2020 Commemoration coin proposal. Both bills are titled “A bill to require the Secretary of the Treasury to mint coins in commemoration of the 400th anniversary of arrival of the Pilgrims,” and we are requesting that members of Congress to become co-sponsors. This is a non-partisan effort, and we anticipate support from many members on both sides of the aisle.

THE BILLS

  • H.R. 2980 (To required the Secretary of the Treasury to mint coins in commemoration of the 400th anniversary of arrival of the Pilgrims.)
  • S. 1715 (To required the Secretary of the Treasury to mint coins in commemoration of the 400th anniversary of arrival of the Pilgrims.)

READ MORE ABOUT THESE BILLS

HOW YOU CAN HELP

Send a letter to your Representative in Congress
Send a letter to your Senator

Missouri Congressional Contacts

SEN. CLAIRE MCCASKILL

Julie Dwyer, Chief of Staff  julie_dwyer@mccaskill.senate.gov

Anna Laitin, Legislative Director anna_laitin@mccaskill.senate.gov

SEN. ROY BLUNT

Glen Chambers, Chief of Staff glen_chambers@blunt.senate.gov

Tracy Henke, Legislative Director tracy_henke@blunt.senate.gov

REP. LACY CLAY

Yvette Cravins, Chief of Staff yvette.cravins@mail.house.gov

Richard Pecantte, Senior Legislative Assistant and Special Assistant to the Congressman richard.pecantte@mail.house.gov

REP. ANN WAGNER

Christian Morgan, Chief of Staff christian.morgan@mail.house.gov

Michael Lowry, Legislative Director michael.lowry@mail.house.gov

REP. BLAINE LUETKEMEYER

Seth Appleton, Chief of Staff seth.appleton@mail.house.gov

Trey McKenzie, Legislative Director trey.mckenzie@mail.house.gov

REP. VICKY HARTZLER

Shaelyn McClanahan, Deputy Chief of Staff shaelyn.mcclanahan@mail.house.gov

Dan Burgess, Legislative Director dan.burgess@mail.house.gov

REP. EMANUEL CLEAVER

John Jones,. Chief of Staff john.h.jones@mail.house.gov

Jennifer Shapiro, Legislative Director jennifer.shapiro@mail.house.gov

REP. SAM GRAVES

Paul Sass, Chief of Staff paul.sass@mail.house.gov

Jack Ruddy, Legislative Director jack.ruddy@mail.house.gov

 

2332total visits,1visits today