Winning Scholarship Essays

2019 Winning Scholarship Essays

First Place Essay – Regan Miller of St. Louis, MO

Second Place Essay – Grace Dunlap of Belton, MO

Third Place Essay – Omar Farooq of Ballwin, MO

2018 Winning Scholarship Essays

2017 Winning Scholarship Essays

Haley Milum is a 2017 graduate of Kearney High School, Kearney, MO, and will be attending Truman State University, Kirksville, MO, majoring in Agronomy and Animal Science. Ms. Milum volunteers at a no-kill shelter and works at Starlight Riding Stables as well as the Jesse James Farm and Historic Park.

Virginia Haverstic is a 2017 graduate of Nevada (MO) High School and will be attending Grinnell College (IA) pursuing degrees in International Bioethics and Law. Ms. Haverstic is a pianist, has served as Student Council Vice President, in marching band, and on the track team. She is a descendant of John Alden, Priscilla Mullins and George Soule.

Kate Boren is a 2017 graduate from Platte County R-III High School, Platte City, MO.
She will be attending the University of Nebraska, Lincoln, NE where she will be majoring in Landscape Architecture. Ms. Boren participated in instrumental music and theater, and volunteered at the Muscular Dystrophy summer camp as a counselor.

2016 Winning Scholarship Essays

Winner of a $1500 scholarship is Rachael Veenstra of Hartville, MO.  Miss Veenstra is a graduate of Ava Victory Academy of Hartville and will be attending Missouri State University in Springfield.  She will be pursuing degrees in Agronomy and Environmental Plant Science.

Winner of a $1000 scholarship is Jeremy Sutphen of St. Louis.  Jeramy is a descendant of Stephen Hopkins, and graduated from North County Christian School (St. Louis) and will be attending Maryville University in Missouri.  His area of study will be in Graphic Design.

Winner of a $500 scholarship is Shannon Anderson of Chesterfield, MO.  Miss Anderson is a graduate from Parkway West High School in Chesterfield, and will attend Emory University in Georgia where she plans to study Biology (Biomed Engineering or Environmental Science).

2015 Winning Scholarship Essays

Our 2015 First Place winner is Veronica Joy Cheney, a senior at Fox Senior High School, Arnold, Missouri. Veronica’s honors and awards include Academic Superhero, National Honor Society, and Theatre Troupe Most Improved Award. Her activities also include Newspaper Editor, Future Business Leaders of America, Astronomy Club, Robotics Club, Softball, and volunteering for Arnold food Pantry and her church. Veronica is a descendant of Mayflower passengers William, Susanna, and Resolved White. She plans to continue her education in the Business College at Truman State University in Kirksville, Missouri.

Our 2015 Second Place winner is Dylan Austin Peetz, a senior at Cape Central High School, Cape Girardeau, Missouri. Dylan’s honors include Honor Roll, and his activities include baseball, tutoring 5th and 6th graders, working at a landscaping company, and volunteering for his church where he served on the Pastor Parish Relation Committee. Dylan is a descendant of Mayflower passenger John Alden. His plans include attending Southeast Missouri State University in Cape Girardeau to receive a degree in Criminal Justice.

Our 2015 Third Place winner is Emilee Morgan Rae Vaught, a senior at Climax Springs High School, Climax Springs, Missouri. Emilee’s honors and awards include Honor Roll, National Honor Society, Student of the Month, and Citizenship Award. Her activities include Class Officer, Softball, Church Youth Leadership, working at McDonald’s, and volunteer, Honor Flight of the Ozarks. She plans to attend Missouri State University in Springfield, Missouri, and continue her education to a Master’s Degree, with the goal of becoming a teacher.

2014 Winning Scholarship Essays

Andrew Michael Williams, a descendant of William Bradford and a member of Mayflower Juniors, from Lee’s Summit West High School.

Jessica Leanne McGowan, a descendant of George Soule, from Blue Springs High School.

2013 Winning Scholarship Essays

By Elisa Erehart (Balwin, MO), Parkway South High School –  Winner of our $1000 scholarship

By Seth Walley (Bolivar, MO), Grace Christian Academy (homeschooled)  – Winner of our $500 scholarship

By Vidhan Srivastava (Fenton, MO), Lindbergh High School –  Winner of our $250 scholarship